groupecahsa@gmail.com

CAHSA ONLINE SPEAKER SERIES

COLLECTIF D'ANTHROPOLOGIE ET D'HISTOIRE DU SPIRITUEL ET DES AFFECTS

BEYOND WORDS:
NONVERBAL ELOQUENCE AND THE SPIRITUAL REALM IN EARLY FRENCH AMERICA

Dr. Céline Carayon
Salisbury University (Maryland)

17 June 2021
9h PT / 10h MT / 11h CT / 12h ET / 18h CET
Via Zoom

Become a CAHSA member to participate.
RSVP to groupecahsa@gmail.com for the Zoom link.


As part of its biannual online lecture series, CAHSA is pleased to present a talk by Dr. Céline Carayon, Associate Professor History, Salisbury University (Maryland), and author of Eloquence Embodied: Nonverbal Communication among French and Indigenous Peoples in the Americas (c.1500-c.1700) (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press for the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture, 2019), which won the 2020 Chinard Prize from the Society for French Historical Studies, the 2021 Biennal Book Prize from the Forum on Early-Modern Empires and Global Interactions (FEEGI), and received an Honorable Mention for the Boucher Prize from the French Colonial Historical Society.

The talk (in English) will last 30-40mn, followed by 20-30mn for discussion (in French and English).

“IL FAUT SE PERDRE SOI-MÊME”:
TOURS ET DÉTOURS DANS LES AVENTURES DE TÉLÉMAQUE DE FÉNELON

Prof. Laurent Susini
Université Lumière Lyon 2

17 December 2020
9h PT / 12h ET / 18h CET
Via Zoom

Become a CAHSA member to participate.
RSVP to groupecahsa@gmail.com for the Zoom link.


For this fourth online lecture, the CAHSA is pleased to present a talk by Prof. Laurent Susini, Professor of French Literature (Université Lumière Lyon 2), and author of L’Insinuation convertie, Pascal, Bossuet, Fénelon : la colombe et serpent (Classiques Garnier, 2019) and of L’Écriture de Pascal : la lumière et le feu (Champion, 2008).

The talk (in French) will last 30-40mn, followed by 20-30mn for discussion (in French and English).

THE ETIQUETTE OF DREAMING:
NIGHT VISIONS AND DISCERNMENT IN SEVENTEENTH CENTURY SPIRITUALITY

Prof. LESLIE TUTTLE
Louisiana State University

11 June 2020

11h CT
(9h PT / 10h MT / 12h ET / 18h CET)
Via Zoom

Become a CAHSA member to participate ($15 CAD/year)
RSVP to groupecahsa@gmail.com for the Zoom link.


For this third online lecture, the CAHSA is pleased to present a talk by Prof. Leslie Tuttle, Associate Professor of History (Louisiana State University, Bâton-Rouge). Her current research focuses mainly on the changing perceptions of dreams in seventeenth and eighteenth-century France and the French diaspora.
The talk (in English) will last 30-40mn, followed by 20-30mn for discussion (in French and English).

HISTORICITÉ ET ANHISTORICITÉ DU TEXTE SPIRITUEL.
COMMENT CATÉGORISER L’ÉMOTION SPIRITUELLE ?

Dr Christian Belin
Université de Montpellier

6 December 2020
11h CT
(9h PT / 10h MT / 12h ET / 18h CET)
Via Zoom

Become a CAHSA member to participate ($15 CAD / year).
RSVP to groupecahsa@gmail.com for the Zoom link.


As part of its new online lecture series, the CAHSA is pleased to present a talk by Dr. Christian Belin, author of La Méditation au XVIIe siècle : Rhétorique, art, spiritualité (Champion, 2006) and Corps pensant : Essai sur la méditation chrétienne (Seuil, 2012).

The talk (in French) will last 30-40mn, followed by 20-30mn for discussion (in French and English).

IDOLATRY AS THE “DARK MATTER” OF SEVENTEENTH-CENTURY FRANCE

INAUGURAL LECTURE BY
Dr. ELLEN McCLURE
University of Illinois at Chicago

13 June 2019
11h CT
(9h PT / 10h MT / 12h ET / 18h CET)
Via Zoom

Become a CAHSA member ($15 CAD/year) to participate.
RSVP to groupecahsa@gmail.com for the Zoom link.


As the inaugural lecture in its new online speaker series, the CAHSA is pleased to present a talk by Dr. Ellen McClure based on her forthcoming book, titled (right now) The Logic of Idolatry in Seventeenth-Century French Literature, to be published spring 2020 with Boydell & Brewer, in their Gallica series.

The talk (in English) will last 30-40mn, followed by 20-30mn for discussion (in French and English)